Coming Soon To A Kindle (or Bookshelf) Near You

      Hello, humans!

      As you may or may not know, I released my first, full-length novel titled “Bully For You” on February 13th, after threatening it for quite some time! It’s both an exciting time and a nerve-racking time. On one hand, it’s a great feeling to finally have the book out and able to be bought. On the other hand, it’s hard not to obsess over how many people have or haven't read it!

      Anyway, I’ve always got something on the horizon, but I thought it might be nice to give a little taste of what that might be this time. Though I’m working hard at really digging into my first draft of the sequel to “Bully For You” (titled “Among The Dirt and Bones” - it's coming along nicely), it is highly unlikely that will see a release earlier than this time next year.

      There will, however, be a couple of smaller book releases in the interim; One is a collection of shorts (some previously released, and others totally exclusive to it) and I'm not willing to talk about anything beyond that just yet.

      The focus of this post is the collection. So, first off, I'm going to share with you the cover art!

      This time around, I've handled the cover illustration myself, which I will likely do for as many of the smaller releases like this as I possibly can. I decided to do things this way mostly so that the novel covers by Deric Phillips would be more special. Also, seeing as the stories contained are kind of the sketches of the universe, I thought it might be nice to use some of my character sketches (with a little rudimentary color) for the cover art. The color splashes have a special significance if you've read "Bully For You".

      "a HARPER collection: Volume One" collects revised/further tightened versions of the shorts "When I Met You", "The Heart's Filthy Lesson" (1-3), and "Sense of Doubt", as well as tighter versions of the more recently released Elizabeth Harper shorts "Dum Dum Girl" and "It's My Life" (1-4) which are collected under the title "a HARPER novelette: Blogging The Harper Way".

      The real draws, however, are the exclusives! A single short titled "The Wedding Song" and a four chapter novelette titled "The Sun Will Shine On You" - which follows Reggie and Elizabeth as they search for a missing young woman named Annabelle Warren. Beyond those, it also includes a six page preview of my upcoming novel titled "God Bless The Girl", which I will be talking more about toward the summer.

      "a HARPER collection: Volume One" will be out in May, both digitally and in print! I'll have pre-order information sometime in the very near future so, as always, keep your eyes peeled!

      -Dan Burley